Ried Krepskogel®

Erste STK Ried

Single Vineyard Krepskogel
Premier Cru STK

A single vineyard on Pössnitzberg

The Single Vineyard Krepskogel, a single vineyard on Pössnitzberg, is located within the village of Pössnitz. The Single Vineyard Krepskogel, named after the former landowner Hans Kreps, extended over a considerable area of the Pössnitzberg in the 17th century. At that time Hans Kreps already cultivated vines there. This is documented by an honourable monument from 1698.

Due to an inclination of 55% this extremely steep and rocky vineyard site needs to be cultivated almost by hand.

Categorisation

The Single Vineyard Krepskogel is the most southern part of Pössnitzberg. This single vineyard wine, classified as “Erste STK Ried” (Premier Cru STK), is typical for the region. This wine demonstrates the strong and natural expression of its origin and has a high ageing potential. The harvest yield is limited to a maximum of 45 hectolitres. Premier Cru STK wines are allowed to be offered for sale at the earliest on 1st of September after 11 months of maturation.

Local orientation

a predominantly south-facing site forming a basin with an average inclination of 55%

Sea level

440m–515m

Climate

Warm winds coming up from Slovenian valleys meet cool air streams from the Koralpe Mountains in the west. These extreme temperature differences cause a spicy and multi-faceted aroma spectrum.

Soil

Pössnitzberg is located on the southern part of the “West Styrian Bay” of the Styrian Basin. In former times (in the Neogene), several 1000 meter thick marine sediments have been deposited there. These deposits, also called “Steirischer Schlier”, are clayey up to fine sandy, gray-green coloured marls including plant fossils and sandstone interstratifications. These scarce and very chalky soils, called “Opok” (chalky marl), are characterised by a humous topsoil formed by weathering, which often does not exceed a height of 20 centimeters, and firm sedimentary rocks.
 

Grape variety

Yellow Muscat (Gelber Muskateller)

Our wine of the Single Vineyard Krepskogel

Ried Krepskogel® Gelber Muskateller Current vintage: 2018, sold out

Ried Krepskogel®

Erste STK Ried

Eine Sub-Riede am südlichsten Teil vom Pössnitzberg.

Die Ried Krepskogel, eine Sub-Riede am südlichsten Teil vom Pössnitzberg, befindet sich in der Katastralgemeinde Pössnitz.  Benannt nach dem ehemaligen Gutsbesitzer Hans Kreps, nahm der Krepskogel im 17. Jahrhundert einen beachtlichen Teil der Fläche vom Pössnitzberg ein, wo Hans Kreps schon damals Reben kultivierte. Ein ehrwürdiges Denkmal aus dem Jahr 1698 weist darauf hin.

Diese extrem steile und felsige Riede kann aufgrund einer Hangneigung von bis zu 55% nahezu nur händisch bewirtschaftet werden.

Kategorisierung

Die Ried Krepskogel ist der südlichste Teil am Pössnitzberg. Dort wächst ein regionstypischer Rieden-Wein, der einen starken, natürlichen Ausdruck seiner Herkunft zeigt und ein beachtliches Entwicklungspotential besitzt. Unser Wein dieser Riede ist als Erste STK Ried klassifiziert. Der Ernteertrag ist auf max. 45hl limitiert. Weine der Ersten STK Ried dürfen frühestens ab dem 1. September nach 11-monatigem Ausbau in den Verkauf gebracht werden.

Ausrichtung

vorwiegend südausgerichtete Kessellage mit einer durchschnittlichen Hangneigung von 55%

Seehöhe

440m–515m

Klima

Warme Aufwinde aus den slowenischen Tälern treffen auf kühle Luftströme der westlich gelegenen Koralpe. Die großen Temperaturunterschiede bewirken eine würzige und vielfältige Aromenausbildung.

Boden

Der Pössnitzberg liegt am südlichen Rand der „Weststeirischen Bucht“ des Steirischen Beckens. Ehemals (im Neogen) wurden hier mehrere 1.000 Meter mächtige Meeressedimente abgelagert. Bei den auch als „Steirischer Schlier“ bezeichneten Ablagerungen handelt es sich um tonig bis feinsandige, graugrün gefärbte Mergel mit Pflanzenfossilien und Sandsteinlagen. Merkmale dieser kargen und stark kalkhaltigen Böden, genannt „Opok“ (Kalkmergel), sind der durch die Verwitterung entstandene humose Oberboden von oft nur 20 Zentimetern und das feste Sedimentgestein.
 

Rebsorte

Gelber Muskateller

Unser Wein der Ried Krepskogel

Ried Krepskogel® Gelber Muskateller Aktueller Jahrgang: 2018, ausverkauft