Ried Poharnig® Sauvignon Blanc

Erste STK Ried

Single Vineyard Poharnig Sauvignon Blanc
Premier Cru STK

Graceful with a vibrating acid, deep structure ending in a salty aftertaste.

The Single Vineyard Poharnig is exclusively planted with the grape variety Sauvignon Blanc and exclusively cultivated by Erwin Sabathi – therefore a monopole vineyard. Our Sauvignon Blanc wines from Poharnig, classified as “Erste STK Ried” (Premier Cru STK), are perfect to enjoy right from the beginning, but they have also a high ageing potential. The harvest yield is limited to a maximum of 45 hectolitres. Premier Cru STK wines are allowed to be offered for sale at the earliest on the 1st of September after 11 months of maturation.


Grape variety:

Sauvignon Blanc

Drinking maturity:

10 years and longer

Climate:

Due to the tension between hot days and cool nights in combination with soft winds arriving from the Koralpe Mountains, only Sauvignon Blanc vines grow on this single vineyard site. This wine is enormously salty, effected by the very sandy soil.

Soil:

The soil mainly consists of sand elements and conglomerate components in combination with weathered sandstone. The upper part of the slope mostly consists of gravel deposits with a high water-permeability.


Our vintages

Ried Poharnig® Sauvignon Blanc 2018 on sale as of September 2019
Ried Poharnig® Sauvignon Blanc 2017 sold out
Ried Poharnig® Sauvignon Blanc 2016 sold out

Ried Poharnig® Sauvignon Blanc

Erste STK Ried, SüdsteiermarkDAC

Elegant mit vibrierender Säure, tiefe Struktur mit salzigem Abgang.

Die Ried Poharnig ist eine Monopollage von Erwin Sabathi und zur Gänze mit der Rebsorte Sauvignon Blanc bestockt. Unser Wein dieser Riede ist als Erste STK Ried klassifiziert. Trinkvergnügen bereiten unsere Sauvignon Blancs vom Poharnig sofort, weisen aber auch ein beachtliches Reifepotential auf. Der Ernteertrag ist auf max. 45hl limitiert. Weine der Ersten STK Ried dürfen frühestens ab dem 1. September nach 11-monatigem Ausbau in den Verkauf gebracht werden.


Rebsorte:

Sauvignon Blanc

Trinkreife:

10 Jahre und mehr

Klima:

Aufgrund der extremen Spannung zwischen heißen Tagen und kühlen Nächten mit leichten Winden von der Koralpe, gedeiht hier ausschließlich Sauvignon Blanc. Durch die sandigen Böden ist dieser Wein von einer sehr salzigen Substanz geprägt.

Boden:

Der geologische Untergrund besteht aus feinkörnigen Sanden und unterschiedlich stark verwitterten Konglomerat-Schichten. In den höheren Hangbereichen nimmt die Korngröße und damit auch die Wasserdurchlässigkeit zu.


Unsere Jahrgänge

Ried Poharnig® Sauvignon Blanc 2019 bestellbar
Ried Poharnig® Sauvignon Blanc 2018 ausverkauft
Ried Poharnig® Sauvignon Blanc 2017 ausverkauft
Ried Poharnig® Sauvignon Blanc 2016 ausverkauft