Leutschacher Welschriesling

STK Ortswein

Leutschacher Welschriesling
STK Village Wine

Delicate Burgundian hints, fine minerality, elegant on the palate.

Our “Leutschacher Welschriesling” is representative of the terroir of our home village Leutschach a.d.W. – this is characterised by the typical wine taste of the wine-growing area as well as by the therefore related name of the wine. The grapes for our “Leutschacher Welschriesling” are from average 50 years old vines.

Village wines demonstrate different characteristics due to their vineyard-location/-orientation, sea level and soil conditions – these components affect the aroma and the typicity of these wines. Different regions mean variously climatic and geological circumstances effecting various wines. Therefore the wine refers to the wine-growing area and this is further the reason for using the name “Leutschach” on the bottle label. STK Village Wines are allowed to be offered for sale at the earliest on the 1st of May after 6 months of maturation.


Grape variety:

Welschriesling

Drinking maturity:

5 years and longer

Climate:

The climate in Leutschach is characterised by moderate rainfall, it is warm and mostly free of fog. The climatic conditions in this area are also influenced by cold, sloping winds from the western Koralpe Mountains, causing cool nights. These cool nights effect high temperature differences between day and night and this fact encourages fruity wine varieties.

Soil:

Leutschach is located within the southwestern Styrian sea basin. Approximately 16 million years ago some 1000 meters of mighty marine sediments accumulated. Geologists describe these fine marine sediments as “Leutschacher Schlier”. It consists of chalky fine-sandy, mostly green-greyish marl clay or argillaceous schist with deposits of sand. These chalky marl soils are called “Opok”.


Our vintages

Leutschacher Welschriesling 2017 sold out

Leutschacher Welschriesling

STK Ortswein

Zart burgundische Anklänge, feingliedrige Mineralität.

Unser „Leutschacher Welschriesling“ ist Botschafter des Terroirs unserer Heimatgemeinde Leutschach a.d.W. – geprägt ist dies durch den herkunftsorientierten Geschmack und dem damit verbundenen Namen. Die Trauben für unseren Leutschacher Welschriesling stammen von durchschnittlich 50-jährigen Rebstöcken.

Ortsweine weisen durch ihre Lage, Seehöhe und Bodenbeschaffenheit unterschiedliche Charakteristika auf, welche die Aromatik und Typizität dieser Weine prägen. Unterschiedliche Orte bedeuten unterschiedliche klimatische und geologische Umstände was zu unterschiedlichen Weinen führt, d.h. der Wein gibt über den Ort Aufschluss und somit wird der Name unseres Weinbauortes, „Leutschach“, am Etikett ausgewiesen. Ortsweine dürfen frühestens ab dem 1. Mai des auf die Ernte folgenden Jahres in den Verkauf gebracht werden.


Rebsorte:

Welschriesling

Trinkreife:

5 Jahre und mehr

Klima:

Das Klima in Leutschach mit mäßigen Niederschlägen ist warm und großteils nebelfrei. Es wird von den kühlen, abfallenden Winden der westlich gelegenen Koralpe beeinflusst. Dadurch ergeben sich kühle Nächte die zu großen Temperaturunterschieden zwischen Tag und Nacht führen, was fruchtbetonte Weinsorten begünstigt.

Boden:

Leutschach liegt aus erdgeschichtlicher Sicht im südweststeirischen Meeresteilbecken. Hier entstanden vor ca. 16 Millionen Jahren teilweise bis zu mehrere 1000 Meter mächtige, marine Ablagerungen. Diese feinen Meeressedimente werden in der Geologie als „Leutschacher Schlier“ bezeichnet. Es handelt sich um tonig-feinsandige, meist graugrün gefärbte, kalkhaltige Tonmergel bis Tonschiefer mit Sandeinlagen. Diese kalkhaltigen Mergelböden werden als „Opok“ bezeichnet.


Unsere Jahrgänge

Leutschacher Welschriesling 2017 bestellbar