Pinot Noir

“Fine and silky on the finish – PINOT NOIR – A grandiose new wine from Patrizia and Erwin Sabathi.”
(Jakob Schillinger)

 

Pössnitzberg is very important for our winery. The conditions are perfect for the French grape varieties Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc and also boasts the best prerequisites for the Burgundian grape variety Pinot Noir. We are almost the sole winegrowers on Pössnitzberg. Our vineyards there show soil conditions that are unique in Austria and very similar to those that allow these wines to grow in their original homeland: extremely poor, chalky soils in combination with other special soil structures that are also prevalent in Burgundy. Due to an inclination of up to 75%, this vineyard needs to be cultivated almost by hand. So it was clear for us, that we fulfilled a personal lifelong dream and planted the magnificent grape variety Pinot Noir. Pinot Noir reacts very sensitively to differences in soil type and microclimate and is therefore particularly suitable for absorbing the specific terroir. And this presents exactly our philosophy: “Our wines reflect our terroir.”

On the one hand, our Pinot Noir is characterised by pressing according to the traditional Burgundian method, on the other hand, it impresses by the noble emblem of Patrizia and Erwin Sabathi, which is presented for the first time on the bottle label: “On the helmet with black and golden blankets, a gold-fringed black cushion, on which two golden lions, red armored and tongued facing and together holding a silver shell.”

Pinot Noir is not integrated in the Südsteiermark DAC system. According to this rule, the origin (Pössnitzberg) is not indicated on the bottle label.


Grape variety:

Pinot Noir

Drinking maturity:

20 years and longer

Climate:

Warm winds coming up from Slovenian valleys meet cool air streams from the Koralpe Mountains in the west. These extreme temperature differences cause a spicy and multi-faceted aroma spectrum.

Soil:

Pössnitzberg is located on the southern part of the "West Styrian Bay" of the Styrian Basin. In former times (in the Neogene), several 1000 meter thick marine sediments have been deposited there. These deposits, also called "Steirischer Schlier", are clayey up to fine sandy, gray-green coloured marls including plant fossils and sandstone interstratifications. These scarce and very chalky soils, called “Opok” (chalky marl), are characterised by a humous topsoil formed by weathering, which often does not exceed a height of 20 centimeters, and firm sedimentary rocks.


Our vintages

Pinot Noir 2018 on request only

Pinot Noir

„Fein und seidig im Abgang – PINOT NOIR – Ein grandioser Neugang von Patrizia und Erwin Sabathi“
(Jakob Schillinger)

Der Pössnitzberg ist das Herzstück unserer Weingärten. Hier herrschen perfekte Bedingungen für die französischen Rebsorten Chardonnay und Sauvignon Blanc und somit auch beste Voraussetzungen für die burgundische Rebsorte Pinot Noir. Wir sind fast alleinige Bewirtschafter am Pössnitzberg und unsere dortigen Lagen haben Bodenverhältnisse, die in Österreich einzigartig sind und jenen gleichen, die diese Weine auch in ihrer ursprünglichen Heimat groß werden lassen: extrem karge, kalkhaltige Böden in Kombination mit weiteren besonderen Bodenstrukturen, die so auch im Burgund vorherrschen. Da unsere Rieden eine Hangneigung von bis zu 75% aufweisen, können diese nahezu ausschließlich händisch bewirtschaftet werden, was von ihrer Herkunft besonders geprägte Weine entstehen lässt. So lag es nahe, dass wir uns einen persönlichen Lebenstraum erfüllten und die grandiose Rebsorte Pinot Noir pflanzten. Pinot Noir reagiert sehr empfindlich auf Unterschiede betreffend Bodentyp und Mikroklima und ist daher besonders geeignet, das spezifische Terroir einzubringen. Und genau das entspricht unserer Philosophie: „Unsere Weine sind Ausdruck unseres Terroirs.“

Dabei zeichnet sich unser Pinot Noir einerseits durch das Keltern nach der traditionellen, burgundischen Methode aus, andererseits besticht er mit dem erstmals präsentierten, edlen Wappen von Patrizia und Erwin Sabathi auf dem Flaschenetikett: „Auf dem Helm mit schwarz-goldenen Decken ein golden befranstes, schwarzes Kissen, darauf stehend zwei einander zugekehrte, rot bewehrte und gezungte, goldene Löwen, gemeinsam eine silberne Muschel haltend.“

Pinot Noir ist nicht im Südsteiermark DAC System verankert. Aus diesem Grund obliegt die Regel, dass die Herkunft (Pössnitzberg) nicht am Flaschenetikett ausgewiesen wird.


Rebsorte:

Pinot Noir

Trinkreife:

20 Jahre und mehr

Klima:

Warme Aufwinde aus den slowenischen Tälern treffen auf kühle Luftströme der westlich gelegenen Koralpe. Die großen Temperaturunterschiede bewirken eine würzige und vielfältige Aromenausbildung.

Boden:

Der Pössnitzberg liegt am südlichen Rand der „Weststeirischen Bucht“ des Steirischen Beckens. Ehemals (im Neogen) wurden hier mehrere 1.000 Meter mächtige Meeressedimente abgelagert. Bei den auch als „Steirischer Schlier“ bezeichneten Ablagerungen handelt es sich um tonig bis feinsandige, graugrün gefärbte Mergel mit Pflanzenfossilien und Sandsteinlagen. Merkmale dieser kargen und stark kalkhaltigen Böden, genannt „Opok“ (Kalkmergel), sind der durch die Verwitterung entstandene humose Oberboden von oft nur 20 Zentimetern und das feste Sedimentgestein.


Unsere Jahrgänge

Pinot Noir 2018 nur auf Anfrage