Ried Krepskogel® Gelber Muskateller 2017 Erste STK Ried

Single Vineyard Krepskogel Yellow Muscat 2017 Premier Cru STK

Grape variety:
Yellow Muscat (Gelber Muskateller)
Vintage:
2017
Awards:
94 A LA CARTE, 93 FALSTAFF, 16 GAULT MILLAU points
Alcohol content:
12.5%vol
Total acid:
5.2g/l
Residual suggar:
1.2g/l
Vinification:
harvested by hand, spontaneously fermented with natural yeasts
Maturation:
between 6 and 12 months in traditional, large, wooden casks
Drinking maturity:
10 years and longer
Bottle closure:
screw cap
Categorisation:
Erste STK Ried (Premier Cru STK)
Wine-growing area/ single vineyard :
Krepskogel
Local orientation:
a predominantly south-facing site forming a basin with an average inclination of 55%
Sea level:
440m–515m
Wine-growing region:
Southern Styria
Description of the wine:
intensive aroma spectrum, enchanting flavour; mallow, cloves, a soft touch of anise on the nose; a tight, expressive structure (based on the opok soil) on the palate; fine, an elegant and an intensive aftertaste
Food recommendation:
summer salad, goes well with sheep cheese and goat cheese, dishes of ginger, poultry (breaded fried chicken), seafood salad, mussels, tropical fruits
EUR 17,80 á 0,75l
Clear
Categorisation:

The Single Vineyard Krepskogel is a sub-vineyard of Pössnitzberg. This single vineyard wine, classified as “Erste STK Ried” (Premier Cru STK site), is typical for the region. This wine demonstrates the strong and natural expression of its origin and has a high ageing potential. The harvest yield is limited to a maximum of 45 hectolitres. Premier Cru STK wines are allowed to be offered for sale at the earliest on 1st of May after 6 months of maturation.

Wine-growing area/ single vineyard:

The Single Vineyard Krepskogel, a sub-vineyard of Pössnitzberg, is located within the village of Pössnitz. The Single Vineyard Krepskogel, named after the former landowner Hans Kreps, extended over a considerable area of the Pössnitzberg in the 17th century. At that time Hans Kreps already cultivated vines there. This is documented by an honourable monument from 1698. Due to an inclination of 55% this extremely steep and rocky vineyard site needs to be cultivated almost by hand.

Climate:

Warm winds coming up from Slovenian valleys meet cool air streams from the Koralpe Mountains in the west.
These extreme temperature differences cause a spicy and multi-faceted aroma spectrum.

Soil:

From the geological point of view the Pössnitzberg is located within the southwestern Styrian sea basin. Approximately 16 million years ago some 1000 meters of mighty marine sediments accumulated. Geologists describe these fine marine sediments as “Styrian Schlier”. It consists of chalky fine-sandy, mostly green-greyish marl clay or argillaceous schist with deposits of sand, fossils of leaves and gloss carbon residues. These scarce and very chalky soils, called “Opok” (chalky marl), are characterised by a humous topsoil formed by weathering, which often does not exceed a height of 20 centimetres, and firm sedimentary rocks.

Ried Krepskogel – eine Sub-Riede vom Pössnitzberg.  

Single Vineyard Krepskogel – a sub-vineyard of Pössnitzberg.

Ried Krepskogel® Gelber Muskateller 2017 Erste STK Ried


Rebsorte:
Gelber Muskateller
Jahrgang:
2017
Auszeichnungen:
94 A LA CARTE, 93 FALSTAFF, 16 GAULT MILLAU Punkte
Alkoholgehalt:
12,5%vol
Gesamtsäure:
5,2g/l
Restzucker:
1,2g/l
Vinifikation:
von Hand gelesen, mit Naturhefen spontan vergoren
Ausbau:
6 bis 12 Monate in großen, traditionellen Holzfässern
Trinkreife:
10 Jahre und mehr
Verschlussart:
Drehverschluss
Klassifizierung:
Erste STK Ried
Herkunft/Ried :
Krepskogel
Ausrichtung:
vorwiegend südausgerichtete Kessellage mit einer durchschnittlichen Hangneigung von 55%
Seehöhe:
440m–515m
Anbaugebiet:
Südsteiermark
Weinbeschreibung:
intensive Aromenkomplexität, betörende Würze; Eibisch, Gewürznelken, zarte Anklänge von Anis in der Nase; am Gaumen straffe, expressive Struktur (geprägt vom Opok-Boden); fein, elegant und intensiv im Nachhall
Speisenempfehlung:
sommerliche Salate, zu frischem Schaf- oder Ziegenkäse, Ingwer-Gerichte, Geflügel (Backhendl), Meeresfrüchte-Salat, Muscheln, exotische Früchte
EUR 17,80 á 0,75l
Auswahl zurücksetzen
Kategorisierung:

Die Ried Krepskogel ist eine Sub-Riede vom Pössnitzberg. Dort wächst ein regionstypischer Rieden-Wein der einen starken, natürlichen Ausdruck seiner Herkunft zeigt und ein beachtliches Entwicklungspotential besitzt. Unser Wein dieser Riede ist als Erste STK Ried klassifiziert. Der Ernteertrag ist auf max. 45hl limitiert. Weine der Ersten STK Ried dürfen frühestens ab dem 1. Mai nach 6-monatigem Ausbau in den Verkauf gebracht werden.

Herkunft/Ried:

Die Ried Krepskogel, eine Sub-Riede vom Pössnitzberg, befindet sich in der Katastralgemeinde Pössnitz. Benannt nach dem ehemaligen Gutsbesitzer Hans Kreps, nahm der Krepskogel im 17. Jahrhundert einen beachtlichen Teil der Fläche vom Pössnitzberg ein, wo Hans Kreps schon damals Reben kultivierte. Ein ehrwürdiges Denkmal aus dem Jahr 1698 weist darauf hin. Diese extrem steile und felsige Riede kann aufgrund einer Hangneigung von bis zu 55% nahezu nur händisch bewirtschaftet werden.

Klima:

Warme Aufwinde aus den slowenischen Tälern treffen auf kühle Luftströme der westlich gelegenen Koralpe. Die großen Temperaturunterschiede bewirken eine würzige und vielfältige Aromenausbildung.

Boden:

Der Pössnitzberg liegt aus erdgeschichtlicher Sicht im südweststeirischen Meeresteilbecken. Hier entstanden vor ca. 16 Millionen Jahren teilweise bis zu mehrere 1000 Meter mächtige marine Ablagerungen. Diese feinen Meeressedimente werden in der Geologie als „Steirischer Schlier“ bezeichnet. Es handelt sich um tonig-feinsandige, meist graugrün gefärbte, kalkhaltige Tonmergel bis Tonschiefer mit Sandeinlagen, Blattfossilien und Glanzkohleresten. Merkmale dieser kargen und stark kalkhaltigen Böden, genannt „Opok“ (Kalkmergel) sind der durch die Verwitterung entstandene humose Oberboden von oft nur 20 Zentimetern und das feste Sedimentgestein.

Ried Krepskogel – eine Sub-Riede vom Pössnitzberg.